pink fish media

Go Back   pink fish media > discussion > audio

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 06-02-17, 01:32 PM
Del monaco Del monaco is offline
pfm Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,760
One plugged into the mains near your router and connected to the router by an ethernet cable, the other plugged next to your system and connected to the Pi by an Ethernet cables. You usually get cables with the plugs.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-02-17, 01:33 PM
kennyh kennyh is offline
pfm Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,379
Would they work with an extension block Del or do they need to go in to the wall?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-02-17, 01:34 PM
kennyh kennyh is offline
pfm Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,379
I can get the router one via the wall but short of wall sockets behind the hifi.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-02-17, 01:44 PM
Del monaco Del monaco is offline
pfm Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennyh View Post
I can get the router one via the wall but short of wall sockets behind the hifi.
I have one of mine in an adapter near the router but it hasn't been a problem. Not best practice though but I also have few sockets to play with.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-02-17, 01:47 PM
kennyh kennyh is offline
pfm Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,379
We can only try it Del. Thanks mate.

Shame, as I was hoping its wifi would be enough to set it up and run it.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 06-02-17, 01:51 PM
Del monaco Del monaco is offline
pfm Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,760
The wifi may hold. Mine does in the kitchen. The built in wifi isn't top notch apparently. You can try. Do you have an Airport express because it can be used as a wireless Ethernet Bridge though it's another complex set up I'm afraid. Home plugs are useful and reliable.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-02-17, 01:52 PM
kennyh kennyh is offline
pfm Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,379
Home plugs it is Del! Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-02-17, 02:17 PM
Man in a van Man in a van is offline
pfm Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennyh View Post
We can only try it Del. Thanks mate.

Shame, as I was hoping its wifi would be enough to set it up and run it.
If you go here

https://sites.google.com/site/picore.../home/how-to-1

and follow the instructions for Raspberry A+ you can set up wifi without a lan connection.

Connect the pi to your TV with a HDMI cable and watch the set up run, you can get the pi IP address from the screen.

This does work, I have just done it.

Up to you if you use it

The rpi wifi is not too bad, especially if you use a plastic, or no case.
I run most of my pi without a case.

atb

ronnie
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-02-17, 05:11 PM
muzzer muzzer is online now
Numb Nut
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,636
You will need a 400 linear psu though to get the best out of it
__________________
this week I have been mostly eating meat &potato pies
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-02-17, 11:48 PM
foxwelljsly foxwelljsly is offline
Keep Music Vile
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,956
FWIW, I use an RPI2b as a Kodi box as part of my main system. This is my main streamer for music. Sounds excellent and does super clever things for video (eg, automatic subtitling). The iplayer plugin also allows you to configure custom access to the API to the very highest quality streams. I use a standard Chromecast to pick up the streaming services I can't get KODI to handle properly (Spotify, Netflix, 4OD etc.) and as a Plex client for the rest of the family. I found the wireless connection to be unsuitable for lossless music as it dropped out constantly. I don't plan to replace it until they put a gigabit ethernet port on it.

I also have a Moode build which I made up for this device - setting up wireless was a PITA and I could discern no audible difference in reproduction quality over KODI.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07-02-17, 12:08 AM
kennyh kennyh is offline
pfm Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,379
Thanks guys. 400 quid power supply

Interesting set up via TV idea, how would you control what's on the screen though as I could on the Laptop?

Foxy, thanks for the info. Worrying you say the wifi was naff for lossless streaming as that's what I want to use it for.

You are using the RPI2 though I read in your post, I didn't think that had wifi.

This is the RPI3, hoping it's different.

Many thanks
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07-02-17, 12:16 AM
chiily chiily is offline
PFM Special Builder
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,898
Try installing PiCorePlayer.

If you don't fancy plugging the PI3 into your tv, simply plug the Pi into the ethernet port on your broadband router/hub, power the Pi3 on. Watch the IP address (DHCP) table on the router/hub, through its web page (easy on a BT Hub). Once the hub has handed out the IP addr, access the PiCorePlayer's web config through http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (replace with IP addr).

Simple

I have two Pi3s, one streaming to the hifi, one for my daughter's bedroom system (both on wifi) and a Pi2 as a LMS server, all running PiCorePlayer.
__________________
PFM Special Speaker BoM

Garf
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07-02-17, 12:20 AM
sam_cat sam_cat is offline
ʇɐɔ_ɯɐs
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony L View Post
No expert here, but I managed to get mine up and running by creading a bootable SD card on my Mac for whatever operating system I wanted (I've tried Ubuntu Mate and Raspberrian so far) and then booting the Pi with it and connecting it to my wi-fi at that point.

I love the idea of the Pi, but I've yet to think of anything I really want to use it for! It is just sitting around doing nothing until I figure that bit out!
Setup a Pi-Hole....
https://pi-hole.net/

Best thing I ever did!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-02-17, 12:25 AM
kennyh kennyh is offline
pfm Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiily View Post
Try installing PiCorePlayer.

If you don't fancy plugging the PI3 into your tv, simply plug the Pi into the ethernet port on your broadband router/hub, power the Pi3 on. Watch the IP address (DHCP) table on the router/hub, through its web page (easy on a BT Hub). Once the hub has handed out the IP addr, access the PiCorePlayer's web config through http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (replace with IP addr).

Simple

I have two Pi3s, one streaming to the hifi, one for my daughter's bedroom system (both on wifi) and a Pi2 as a LMS server, all running PiCorePlayer.
Thanks very much Chilly. Installing Ipcoreplayer is indeed my first aim when the PI arrives plus win32diskimager, did you install that too? I realised I had to plug it in to the router for initial set up via info given here, is he TV method just an alternative?

Great to know you are streaming to the hifi on it. You have no Ethernet connected to it at all now it's set up?

Have you managed to stream tidal yet which is my aim?

Router is SKY so hoping it's as simple as your experience with the BT hub.

Great info and thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07-02-17, 01:19 AM
onlyconnect onlyconnect is offline
pfm Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennyh View Post
win32diskimager
This is just a Windows utility that lets you zap a Pi operating system onto an SD card. You need a card reader for your PC. It doesn't install on the Pi itself.

Tim
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
pink fish media