pink fish media

Go Back   pink fish media > discussion > audio

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #106  
Old 17-02-17, 09:01 AM
pjdowns pjdowns is offline
pfm Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe P View Post
Julf,



Joe
Such a pretty puddy cat! I have 5 of the blighters, but wouldn't want to do without them.
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 17-02-17, 09:23 AM
Julf Julf is offline
Evil brother of Mark V Shaney
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7,690
Specially for Joe... I just got back from a meeting in Iceland. The latest hit there is...

Keeping up with the kattarshians (live)
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 17-02-17, 09:31 AM
cromodora cromodora is offline
foshfishfie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjdowns View Post
Such a pretty puddy cat! I have 5 of the blighters, but wouldn't want to do without them.
Recently, my good friend's hifi kit developed a mysteriousl fault on one channel. After a lot of headscratching, we found his tonearm cable had shorted and his cat's chew marks can be seen upon closer inspection. Also upon said inspection, it was discovered that the Linn T-cable is actually Mogami microphone wire, available online for less than US1.50 per foot.

This segues nicely back to the topic at hand.
__________________
--
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 17-02-17, 09:38 AM
Joe P Joe P is offline
certified Buffologist / mod
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 23,586
Julf,

Neato, I figured it would only be a matter of time before live cat streaming became a reality, though with most cats I imagine much of the feed could be replaced with a static picture of a cat sleeping.

Joe
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 19-02-17, 12:34 PM
suzywong suzywong is offline
The Man who had no Naim
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe P View Post
Julf,

Neato, I figured it would only be a matter of time before live cat streaming became a reality, though with most cats I imagine much of the feed could be replaced with a static picture of a cat sleeping.

Joe
Google for "Foster Dad John"

And be prepared to while away a few hours watching kittens!
__________________
Chris

Shifting 1s & 0s since 1968
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old 19-02-17, 01:18 PM
pjdowns pjdowns is offline
pfm Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by cromodora View Post
Recently, my good friend's hifi kit developed a mysteriousl fault on one channel. After a lot of headscratching, we found his tonearm cable had shorted and his cat's chew marks can be seen upon closer inspection. Also upon said inspection, it was discovered that the Linn T-cable is actually Mogami microphone wire, available online for less than US1.50 per foot.

This segues nicely back to the topic at hand.
Uho, luckily my cats don't go near to the Hifi that frequently and get shooed away if I see them.
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 20-02-17, 09:08 AM
AlanB AlanB is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 27
The best of this thread has been Joe's puss. What a little smasher!
Hang on.....my whippet is giving me a peculiar look.

Back to the cable business. Having been messing with hifi stuff (mostly non Naim so not brainwashed) for about 45 years I keep an open mind. Cables can make a difference. Some improve, some make little to no difference and some are decidedly detrimental. I let my ears make the decision. Tried several power cables with my Naim gear but, so far, the stock cable wins. I tried a Powerline some time ago in a Dac V and heard no difference. Ordered two Powerline Lite's from Tom Tom Audio this morning for my 272 and XPS2. Bought on 'Sale or Return' basis. "Give them a week or two and let us know." That's fine by me.

Last edited by AlanB; 20-02-17 at 09:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 11-06-17, 02:14 AM
Gaius Gaius is offline
Trade: Stiletto by Tangerine
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 11,910
AlanB, any conclusions with Powerline Lite?
__________________
www.tangerineaudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 11-06-17, 04:09 AM
HiFiman HiFiman is offline
Don't tell him Pike
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanB View Post
The best of this thread has been Joe's puss. What a little smasher!
Hang on.....my whippet is giving me a peculiar look.

Back to the cable business. Having been messing with hifi stuff (mostly non Naim so not brainwashed) for about 45 years I keep an open mind. Cables can make a difference. Some improve, some make little to no difference and some are decidedly detrimental. I let my ears make the decision. Tried several power cables with my Naim gear but, so far, the stock cable wins. I tried a Powerline some time ago in a Dac V and heard no difference. Ordered two Powerline Lite's from Tom Tom Audio this morning for my 272 and XPS2. Bought on 'Sale or Return' basis. "Give them a week or two and let us know." That's fine by me.

Why two power leads for the 272/XPS2, when the 272 is powered by the XPS the mains connection to the 272 isn't required saving you 95.00
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 11-06-17, 04:17 AM
Cereal Killer Cereal Killer is online now
fourhundredandthirtytwo
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 16,192
What I really don't understand about power cables is why don't y'all experiment with making some of your own??
surely you must know how to wire up a 13a mains plug, an IEC is even simpler!!

If using a screened flex simply attached the screened to the earth, main plug end... job done.

For example Chord's top flight mains cable is c1800, it uses plugs (both ends) that are readily available from eBay for 90.
__________________
Naim SU/ProAc SM100
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 11-06-17, 04:39 AM
HiFiman HiFiman is offline
Don't tell him Pike
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 474
looking at the Naim Powerlite lead it's material make up looks like something that costs 10-20 and I may be too generous with that estimation.

I have dabbled with mains leads in the past, some home made others purchased and have always returned to the stock leads.
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old 11-06-17, 04:46 AM
Cereal Killer Cereal Killer is online now
fourhundredandthirtytwo
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 16,192
yerp, I made one this time coz my SuperUniti came without one (bought it ex-dem) and the naim one is c40 even with a (UK) MK plug, standard Chinese moulded IEC and 0.75mm flex. I got some of Furutech's cheapest shielded flex and some decent pugs either end. Don't know if it makes any difference but I do know the electricity is getting to the amp OK.
__________________
Naim SU/ProAc SM100
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old 11-06-17, 05:00 AM
Folkman Folkman is offline
pfm Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,056
[QUOTE=Cereal Killer
For example Chord's top flight mains cable is c1800, it uses plugs (both ends) that are readily available from eBay for 90.[/QUOTE]

Really ? Do you have a link.
__________________
Rega Isis, Osiris, RS10.
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old 11-06-17, 05:35 AM
Cereal Killer Cereal Killer is online now
fourhundredandthirtytwo
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 16,192
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/MS-HD-Powe...IAAOSw2gxY0lG-
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/MS-HD-Powe...3D322229682332

https://www.chord.co.uk/product/saru...y-power-cable/

From looking at it, they use the Rhodium plated set of plugs @110
__________________
Naim SU/ProAc SM100
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old 11-06-17, 05:42 AM
Folkman Folkman is offline
pfm Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,056
That's a no then .
__________________
Rega Isis, Osiris, RS10.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
pink fish media