pink fish media

Go Back   pink fish media > discussion > audio

Notices

Old 06-08-10, 04:54 PM

Exposure decision

Im choosing between an exposure XXV integrated and a dual IV amp/exposure3 pre.

I have no experience of any of these and wont be able to make an audition.
Would be greatful if anyone with experience could guide me in my decision.

My speakers are Epos ES14.

Many thanks
Old 07-08-10, 12:46 AM
Trade.

The dual IV anyday

Match it with a more recent preamp if possible, say XVII or XIX maybe XXI - never heard the III pre
Old 07-08-10, 12:57 AM
Buffet-blower

Is the Dual IV really a 'Dual' IV? Only reason I ask is that I wasn't aware that the Dual ever came with a power-out socket to run the pre-amp, as the Single IV did. Would make a difference to its sale value certainly. If it's a Dual it will have it stated on the rear of the amp...and of course it'll have the dual H&F transformers inside.

Are there any photos of the innards of the IV?

Out of the two rigs you mention, I'd take the III/IV.
Old 07-08-10, 04:33 AM
pfm Member

Gromit is right: I'd certainly ask for clarification of Dual status from the seller. The pre (and power, if it's the same vintage) will be 30 years old, and would benefit from a service. If you speak to Tony Brady at Exposure, he can give you an idea of what would be required.

That pairing, newly serviced/recapped, should be a far better amp (especially with the ES14s) than the XXV (good though the XXV is)
Old 07-08-10, 04:58 AM
Trade.

I remember the original IV as beeing somewhat loose flabby in bas department and doubt ES14 would benefit much.

A IVDR is another fish and certainly priced accordingly.

Anyway I would consider the integrated too if that pricing is ok.
Not everyday such a fine amplifier available.
As I recall its a more recent remote version of the classic XX.
Old 07-08-10, 07:25 AM
Exposure Fan

Hi guys, cant beleive I have not yet added a comment so here goes.