1. Things you need to know about the new ‘Conversations’ PM system:

a) DO NOT REPLY TO THE NOTIFICATION EMAIL! I get them, not the intended recipient. I get a lot of them and I do not want them! It is just a notification, log into the site and reply from there.

b) To delete old conversations use the ‘Leave conversation’ option. This is just delete by another name.
    Dismiss Notice

A speaking schematic-McBride

Discussion in 'd.i.y.' started by Retro, Jan 14, 2008.

1. Retro

Retro pfm Member

Hi All,

I've been using Mcbride 135 clones for about two years and I am delighted with them. I have a reasonable ammount of technical knowledge, I built them and got them running, but I can't say I really understand how the amp circuit works.
    Is there anyone of this forum who would be prepared to talk us all through the schematic, block by block or per transistor say, so we can all appreciate what the circuit does. I have attached a link to Neil's PDF schematic below.

Regards,

Graham.

2. stevec67

stevec67 pfm Member

Your link doesn't work. I've found it anyway, and I can work out some of the basics.

You've got a pair of Darlington paired transistors, in classical fashion, driving the outputs. (Q9-Q11 and Q10-12). One pair drives the positive bits of the wave, the other pair the negative bits of the wave. As you can see, the whole circuit is divided into a "negative half" and a "positive half", hence the 38V-0-38V power rails. Darlington pairs are characterised by one small transistor controlling/switching base voltage and current to a larger power transistor, usually these last are in a steel can on a heatsink.