1. Things you need to know about the new ‘Conversations’ PM system:

a) DO NOT REPLY TO THE NOTIFICATION EMAIL! I get them, not the intended recipient. I get a lot of them and I do not want them! It is just a notification, log into the site and reply from there.

b) To delete old conversations use the ‘Leave conversation’ option. This is just delete by another name.
    Dismiss Notice

Naim superline Professionals:what about capacity plugs?

Discussion in 'audio' started by Werner Mayrhuber, Mar 26, 2020.

1. Hi everybody, due to my experience as a superline beginner I want to ask how to find the optimum in capacity load:
    Is it just as small as possible to avoid broadcast interferences („radio moscow“) or should it create a special taste in sound?
    In present I use 220pF which is enough to keep the sound clean, also tried 470pF with very little difference, both in combination with R500 and a Benz Micro Glider SL.
    Next step for me is the use of Z Foil resistors (allready on the way from US)-lets see what happens.
    Loopings forward hearing from the experienced guys,
    Greetings from Austria
    Werner

2. Mike Reed

Mike Reed pfm Member

Moving coils aren't really affected by capacitance; only resistance. I found, with my Superline, that the smallest cap. plug (5.? pF?) did the trick of lowering RFI but not degrading s.q. My friend, who still has his Superline, uses no capacitance at all; maybe he's lucky with RFI). Generally, the higher the cap., the more flattening of the sound. My Benz (Ebony LP) much preferred the 220 R plug, and I sometimes forgot to change it when I swapped from my Koetsu (100 ohmsR) and it did sound quite off.

3. yeti42

yeti42 pfm Member

Trial and error by listening to its effect on music, starting from a minimum value after optimising the R plug. The resolution you’re using is finer than I ever tried, 470pF being my smallest value plug.

4. Arkless Electronics

Arkless Electronics Trade: Amp design and repairs.