1. Things you need to know about the new ‘Conversations’ PM system:

a) DO NOT REPLY TO THE NOTIFICATION EMAIL! I get them, not the intended recipient. I get a lot of them and I do not want them! It is just a notification, log into the site and reply from there.

b) To delete old conversations use the ‘Leave conversation’ option. This is just delete by another name.
    Dismiss Notice

Nap 140 clone

Discussion in 'd.i.y.' started by geordie37, Jun 12, 2019.

1. geordie37

geordie37 New Member

Good evening everyone,

I purchased two NAP 140 clones (with components) from e-bay recently with a view to gaining experience at self build DIY audio equipment. (I am a complete novice, but very keen - and this may a stretch for my first attempt at a self build.....)

I have however quickly found out that the boards are not enough to use on their own.....power supply, rails??.....are all new to me.

Is their a thread that has previously run in PFM that someone could send please..........so I can read and learn from.

Thanks everyone

Geordie

2. misterc6

misterc6 Wasted and wounded, it ain’t what the moon did

Hi Geordie and welcome to PFM.

I have to be brutally honest and say that if you didn't realise that a power supply would be needed along with a knowledge of working with mains voltages you may find the task difficult, to say the least. Clones bought on eBay often come with inferior components and can give be difficult to set up. You will need to search the DIY room and the Internet in general to find some help. My advice would be to start with a simpler project possibly battery operated or designed to run from a power supply module.

I wish you all the luck in the world, but please be careful!

3. MJS

MJS Trade: Consultant at WH Audio